Merlin Flight Simulation Group logo and photograph

IT FLIES - 16 June 2011 at Coventry University - Results!

A great competition, with nine entries for IT FLIES UK this year. A selection of aircraft designs, including two V/STOL aircraft.

Flying judges Dave Southwood, and Dave Mackay could not separate the top two entries on their handling qualities - the electric aircraft from The University of Dayton, and the very light jet from Swansea University.

The official results are as follows:-

First Prize:-

The University of Dayton's team, Brian Cranston, John Puttman - electric airplane

Swansea University's team, Sam Seaton, Alex Woods, Bakhtawar Khan, Francis Paul Mboya Opiyo, Komalben Shah, Matthew Hunt, Owain Little, Roberto Morujo - Very Light Jet

They won the Harrier Trophy and £500 each from Merlin Flight Simulation Group; plus membership of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

Second Prize:-

The University of Dayton's team, Andrew McClinton, Brian Walsh, James Agans - C130H

They won £250 from SAFRAN Messier-Bugatti-Dowty

Third Prize:-

Coventry University, Gian Zapata - SIPA aircraft

Swansea University, Chris Grout - Motorized Glider

They won copies of John Farley's book 'A View from the Hover'

The IHS prize for the Best Technical Information went to:-

Bobby Henderson and Ioannis Sophocleous

Bristol University for their A319 replacement

The AOPA prize for the Best New Aircraft Design went to:-

Bobby Henderson and Ioannis Sophocleous

Bristol University

Our grateful thanks to our sponsors this year, AOPA, SAFRAN Messier-Bugatti-Dowty, IHS, and the Royal Aeronautical Society, without whom this Competition could not have taken place. Also to Coventry University for the use of their splendid aerospace laboratory for the day.

Back to competition archive

photograph - Group of men with certificate

The winners, Swansea and University of Dayton

photograph - One man in a flight simulator

Dave Mackay flying an entry

photograph - Man in a flight simulator, two others look on

Web design by Sparticle